top of page
  • Marcela Torres

My Love For Photoshop

Updated: Apr 14, 2022

Photoshop is a real skill that takes time to possess and I just so happen to be lucky enough to have that skill. As I said in my previous post I shared my love for post production and my most proudest post production moment and that was my commercial beverage photography shot Vampire Cocktail. As I explained in that post it had so many challenges to it but luckily photoshop and it's many many ways fixed it in the end and made it look so unbelievably realistic.



Another one of my favorite photoshop techniques is masking. I feel like I can really do so much with that one. I often times find when I'm taking photos that I think I have the shot and that no major edits need to be made. Unfortunately since I am a naturally a very shaky person most of my shots tend to come out very shaken that is if you zoom in fairly well. I am a major detail freak so any sort of imperfection in my photos often bothers me. Thankfully masking helps with this major issue I often experience.



My editing process for my fashion photography project


For this I had three different photos that had parts to it that I really liked because they were in focus or they fit with the photo really well. Although I could've went with one good shot it really was not easy for me but the final process turned out much better than expected. I can honestly say my strongest skill is in masking. I don't care how long it takes for me to mask I'll make it realistic and work. Masking a bunch of photos is a lot to learn but when you can learn to do it and understand how masks work you can do so much with it. I was taught this in media foundation but I never actually understood it until I took my photography course and my lovely teacher Greg Danbrooke taught me how to really do it. I still till this day watch his videos as a reminder on how to do certain things. One of my favourite things he taught me is combining multiple processes. That technique is such a life safer when your subject is too dark and your background is too bright. Combining images can do so much for a final image.


Overall , I believe there's so many useful techniques. There's still so much for me to learn but I honestly love what I can create today.



- Marcela

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page